Dissertation Experience

“If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?” – Albert Einstein

Languages’ learning curves

After learning more than a dozen computer languages, I feel confident about any other language or IDE (integrated development environment). But, since it takes time and dedication to adapt and be fluent, it is better to stick to what is known.

While learning GitHub, I chose to practice volunteering for OperationCode and was invited to Slack. Three different environments, all new to me.

A challenge offered by OperationCode was easy to follow, but the instructions were written three times in the same tutorial. After ending the challenge, I tried to fix the instructions but couldn’t find them again. Going back to OperationCode.org was frustrating because there is no option to login and the option to join gives a dry error. Which means that all volunteers are communicating via Slack.com and working the code via GitHub.com

Writing this post I found at OperationCode.org under ‘Get Involved’ the link ‘Open Source’ which takes us to a GitHub page explaining how to setup the environment and the code standards to follow. So far, Docker and Ruby are unknown to me but I will try.

Meanwhile, I had to include a couple of my volunteer work in my resume, to show my proficiency with PHP (personal home page) for an interesting opening nearby. The video starting this post compares it against Java, which I studied for years after OOP (object oriented programming). Both are open source. Their targets are the difference.

Leave a Reply

